Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Solomon Firm LLC Skilled Legal Solutions
  • Skilled Legal Solutions
  • ~
  • Call for a free consultation

Marriage Requirements in Georgia


How complicated is it to get married in Georgia?  It’s not extremely complicated, but there are some specific requirements you need to meet in order to be married and receive a marriage license.  Make sure you meet the criteria below before you move to have your marriage certified.

No More Blood Tests

First things first- there is no longer a requirement that future spouses be blood tested before marriage.  The requirement is becoming less common over time but still exists in some states.  Testing is for communicable diseases, in particular, venereal disease.  But this is no longer a requirement in Georgia, so there is no need to see a doctor, have your blood taken, or to certify that to the court.

Age Limits

Like most states, Georgia puts limits on who can apply for a marriage license.  In Georgia, you must be eighteen years old, or sixteen years old with parental consent.  There is, of course, no upper age limit for marriage in Georgia.

Waiting Periods

There is no longer a waiting period to get married in Georgia.  A waiting period is a period before which a marriage license can be signed and handed over.  It is common in many states to have a waiting period or to have one that can be avoided by attending premarital counseling.  However, there is no waiting period in Georgia; you can get married same-day.

Residency and Where to File

Applicants can apply for a marriage license in any county Probate Court in Georgia, provided at least one of the applicants is a resident of the State of Georgia.  If neither future spouse is a resident of Georgia, the couple is not out of luck and still can get married in Georgia.  However, they will have to file in the county where the ceremony will be performed.

Premarital Education

Some states require the completion of a premarital counseling course.  Other states, like Georgia, attempt to incentivize couples to attend by offering something in return.  Georgia marriage license fees are $56 without Premarital Education completed and $16 with Premarital Education.


Like in most states, there is a charge for a marriage license in the state of Georgia.  There is a $10 charge for the certified copy of the marriage license, which is mailed to the applicants after recording, and a $10 fee for the certified copy of the license application for the Social Security Administration.

Appearance at Court

Both applicants must appear in person in order to complete the application for a marriage license.  The future spouses also must provide sufficient identification.  A driver’s license, state ID, resident alien ID, military ID, or passport qualifies as sufficient identification for these purposes.

Help Is Available

Are you dealing with family law issues?  Are you expecting a marriage or divorce in the coming future?  You are not alone; many families and spouses experience family law issues at some point in their lives.  If you are dealing with family law issues, you need an experienced Atlanta family attorney by your side to handle the legal aspects of your case.  You can find one at The Solomon Firm LLC.  Call and make an appointment for a consultation today.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation